Close the window



2015 / Germany, France, Netherlands / 90 min / N-13
Total votes: 49, Average: 7.7
Added to my films
Add to my films
Remove from my films
Francofonia on IMDb
Director(s) - Aleksandr Sokurov
Screenwriter(s) - Aleksandr Sokurov
Actors - Aleksandr Sokurov, Louis-Do de Lencquesaing, Vincent Nemeth, Benjamin Utzerath, Johanna Korthals Altes, Jean-Claude Caër, Andrey Chelpanov
Producer(s) - Pierre Olivier Bardet, Olivier Père
Cinematographer - Bruno Delbonnel
Editor(s) - Hansjörg Weißbrich, Alexei Jankowski
Composer(s) - Murat Kabardokov
Sales agent - Films Boutique
Distributor -
Production company -
Dialogues - Russian, French, German, English
Subtitles - Lithuanian
Another century has passed on the Old Continent... Large armies are trampling on the heart of civilisation and cannon fire is once again taking its toll. Amidst the massacre and the ruins, everything majestic, magnificent, and sacred, that took millions of minutes and hours of determined labour to build, is wiped out. Jacques Jaujard and Count Franziskus Wolff Metternich worked together to protect and preserve the treasure of the Louvre Museum. Alexander Sokurov tells their story. He explores the relationship between art and power, and asks what art tells us about ourselves, at the very heart of one of the most devastating conflicts the world has ever known.

About Directors

Aleksandr Sokurov (b. 1951 in Podorvikha, Russia).


"Maria (Peasant Elegy)" (1975, short), "The Lonely Voice of Man" (1978), "Degraded" (1980, short), "Sonata for Hitler" (1980, short), "Sonata for Viola" (1981), "And Nothing More" (1982), "Painful Indifference" (1983), "Evening Sacrifice" (1984, short), "Patience Labour" (1985, short), "Elegy" (1985), "Moscow Elegy" (1986), "The Empire Style" (1987, short), "Days of Eclipse" (1988), "Save and Protect (Madame Bovary)" (1989), "Soviet Elegy" (1989, short), "Petersburg Elegy" (1990, short), "Simple Elegy" (1990), "The Second Circle" (1990), "To the Events in Transcaucasia" (1990, short), "Leningrad Retrospective" (1957-1990), "An Example of Intonation" (1991, short), "Stone" (1992), "Elegy From Russia" (1993), "Whispering Pages" (1993), "Spiritual Voices" (1995), "Oriental Elegy" (1996, short), "Hubert Robert: A Fortunate Life" (1996, short), "Humble Life" (1997), "Mother and Son" (1997), "Confession" (1998), "The Knot" (1998), "Moloch" (1999), "Dolce" (2000, doc.), "Taurus" (2001), "Elegy of a Voyage" (2001), "Russian Ark" (2002), "Father and Son" (2003), "Diary of Saint Petersburg - Mozart. Requiem" (2004, doc.), "The Sun" (2004), "Elegy of Life: Rostropovich Vishnevskaya" (2006), "Alexandra" (2007), "Reading Book of Blockade" (2009, doc.), "Faust" (2011), "We Need Happiness" (2011, doc.), "Francofonia" (2015, "Kino pavasaris").