March 19 – April 2

About competition programmes

European Debut Competition

This competition consists of debuting filmmakers from European countries. 11 selected films portray themes that young filmmakers care about and what film language they seek to develop.

Jury members:

Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė
Director, cinematographer and visual artist.

Rugilė Barzdžiukaitė is a director, cinematographer and visual artist. Her most recent feature documentary ACID FOREST (2018) was awarded at Locarno and other festivals, closed Vilnius IFF 2019 and is still traveling to festivals around the world. Barzdžiukaitė is one of the three artists who represented Lithuania at last year’s Venice Biennale with the performance-installation “Sun & Sea (Marina)”, which won a Golden Lion for the best national pavilion.

Evgeny Gusyatinskiy
Russia, The Netherlands
Programmer of Rotterdam International Film Festival

Evgeny Gusyatinskiy is a film critic and programmer at the Rotterdam Film Festival, focusing on works from Russia and Eastern Europe. He is also a member of the Kinotavr Film Festival selection committee. Gusyatinskiy was an editor and film critic at Iskusstvo Kino, one of the oldest film magazines in Europe.

Boyd van Hoeij
The Netherlands, Luxembourg
Freelance film writer and critic

Boyd van Hoeij is a Dutch-born freelance film writer. He was a contributing critic at Variety before moving to The Hollywood Reporter in 2013. He is an artistic advisor for the Luxembourg City Film Festival and president of the Selection Committee of the Luxembourg Film Fund. He has taught film criticism workshops and conducted shot-by-shot analyses of film classics.

Jonas Holmberg
Artistic director of Göteborg Film Festival

Jonas Holmberg has been the artistic director of Göteborg Film Festival since 2014. He founded the film magazine FLM in 2007.

Katarzyna Sinarska
Head of sales of „New Europe Film Sales“

Katarzyna Sinarska is part of the Warsaw-based independent film distributor New Europe Film Sales. In 2019, she became the Vice President of Europa International, an organization of European film sales agents. New Europe’s catalogue includes such award-winning titles as CORPUS CHRISTI (2019), A WHITE, WHITE DAY (2019), RAMS (2015) and more.

Short Competition 

In this program you will see carefully selected short films that will compete for the Best Short Film prize. Drama, comedy, documentary, animation, experimental. Here you will find a variety of genres and themes, directorial courage and talent to tell short but powerful stories.

Jury members:

Andrius Blaževičius
Film director, educator, programmer of Vilnius International Short Film Festival

Andrius Blaževičius is a film director, educator and longtime programmer of Vilnius International Short Film Festival. In 2011, he earned his master’s degree in Film Directing from the Lithuanian Music and Theater Academy. Andrius completed six short films during his studies, including TEN REASONS (2011), which won two Lithuanian Film Academy Awards. His debut feature film THE SAINT (2016) premiered at the Busan and Warsaw Film Festivals, and received six Lithuanian Film Academy Awards.

Konstantina Kotzamani
Short film Electric Swan (2019) director

Konstantina Kotzamani’s short films premiered at major festivals such as Cannes, Venice, Berlinale and Locarno. She received numerous international prizes and two nominations from the European Film Awards. Kotzamani has worked on the juries of multiple film festivals. Her latest short is ELECTRIC SWAN (2019).

Simone Späni
Member of Berlin International Film Festival selecting committee

Simone Späni founded Cocoon Productions with her partner Rhea Plangg in 2018. She has worked for film production companies in Zurich, and for several film, theater and music festivals in Switzerland and Rwanda. Späni is a member of the selection committee for Berlinale Shorts and previously worked as a curator for Winterthur International Short Film Festival.

The content on our website is unavailable, because your internet browser is not up to date.

Please upgrade your browser or use a different one to enjoy our site to the fullest.

We apologize for the inconvenience.